12.11.2015 - 15.11.2015 // Conference ›EVERY STEP YOU TAKE‹ – Art and Society in the Data Age // Dortmund

Dortmund, Dortmunder U | Schauspiel Dortmund

A project by medienwerk.nrw

– Lectures / Panel Discussions / Film Screenings / Performances / Workshops –

12/13 November, 2015: Dortmunder U (U-Cinema & Foyer)
14/15 November, 2015: Schauspiel Dortmund (Theatre bar "Institut" & Studio)

The international conference ›Every Step You Take‹ – Art and Society in the Data Age deals with the utopias and dystopias interconnected with new technologies of automated collection, storage and analysis of vast amounts of data. A feeling of uneasiness is being articulated in numerous scientific and artistic positions in view of current developments in our digital and networked media reality. The public debate on ›Big Data‹, surveillance, transparency and data protection, as well as individual user behaviour in social networks are deeply ambivalent: the promises and temptations of technological progress — safety, predictability, optimisation, convenience — come with societal and personal consequences. In all their complexity, these consequences often remain intangible and abstract.

The conference ›Every Step You Take‹ presents positions of media art, theory and digital culture reacting to these current technological and societal developments. A central question is how current artistic strategies are able to visualise invisible, immaterial and highly complex processes, thereby describing the present technological changes and making their consequences comprehensible. A second focus will be the societal, economic and political ideas that have inscribed themselves in the way new media functions: How do these ideas and rationale reproduce in everyday use? And how much space is there for a critical analysis and emancipation in the digital realm?

The conference programme includes lectures, panel discussions, a concert performance by Holly Herndon (music) and Mat Dryhurst (visuals), a film programme curated by Florian Wüst, a performance of the live film „Minority Report“ at Schauspiel Dortmund, a literary reading by German novelist Leif Randt, and workshops e.g. on e-mail encryption in cooperation with Fraunhofer UMSICHT and Dortmunder U.

Contributions by: Inke Arns, Kim Asendorf, Dirk Baecker, Alain Bieber, Mercedes Bunz, Niels van Doorn, Cécile B. Evans, Paul Feigelfeld, Matthew Fuller, Gemma Galdon Clavell, Louis Henderson, Holly Herndon, Felix Hüttemann, Alexander Kerlin, Ignas Krunglevičius, Constanze Kurz, Brigitta Kuster, Koen Leurs, Boaz Levin, Joanne McNeil, Jennifer Lyn Morone, Luciana Parisi, Peng! Collective, Maral Pourkazemi, Leif Randt, Hans Ulrich Reck, Manfred Schneider, Nishant Shah, Christian Sievers, Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud, Jennifer Whitson, Pinar Yoldas, and others

Film programme with contributions by: Nadav Assor, Jürgen Brügger & Jörg Haaßengier, Bureau of Inverse Technology, Emma Charles, Hellmuth Costard & Jürgen Ebert, Norman Cowie, Stéphane Degoutin & Gwenola Wagon, Omer Fast, Harun Farocki, Walter Koch, Steffen Köhn, Jen Liu, Christian Niccoli, Ridley Scott

Film programme curated by Florian Wüst

Concept & Programme Curator: Fabian Saavedra-Lara
Concept & Programme: Judith Funke
Project management: Annette Bohn

Funded by:

Ministry for Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sport of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia
German Federal Agency for Civic Education
Cultural Office of the City of Dortmund

In
cooperation with:

Hartware MedienKunstVerein
Schauspiel Dortmund
Dortmunder U – Centre for Art and Creativity
Kino im U e.V.
Heimatdesign
Fraunhofer UMSICHT

Download: Programmablauf (PDF)Konferenzprogramm (PDF)

Category: Symposium

PROGRAMMHEFT KONFERENZ | PROGRAMME BOOKLET CONFERENCE (PDF)

Programmablauf | Conference Schedule (PDF)

Hinweis: Konferenzsprache ist Englisch. Veranstaltungen in deutscher Sprache (z.B. Eröffnungsvortrag, Lesung) sind im Programmablauf mit (DE) gekennzeichnet.

Please note: The conference will be held in English. Events in German language (e.g. opening lecture, literary reading) are labeled (DE) in the schedule.
 
 
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 12. November 2015, 18:00 Uhr, Dortmunder U

Opening: Thursday, November 12, 2015, 18:00 h, Dortmunder U
 
 
Zugang:
 
Der Eintritt zur Konferenz ist frei. (Vorträge, Paneldiskussionen, Filmprogramme, Konzert Holly Herndon)

Aufgrund begrenzter Teilnehmerzahl ist für das KONZERT von HOLLY HERNDON/MAT DRYHURST eine kurze Anmeldung erforderlich unter: tickets@medienwerk-nrw.de

Die Theaterinszenierung „Minority Report“ des Schauspiel Dortmund (14. November) ist kostenpflichtig: 15 € / 10 € erm. (Weitere Informationen: www.theaterdo.de)
 
Admission:

Free admission to the conference. (Lectures, panel discussions, film programme, concert Holly Herndon)

As the number of participants is limited, we ask you to register here for the CONCERT performance by HOLLY HERNDON/MAT DRYHURST (November 14): tickets@medienwerk-nrw.de

The theatre production „Minority Report“ at Schauspiel Dortmund (November 14) is subject to a fee: 15 € / 10 € reduced (Further information: www.theaterdo.de)
 
  

Adressen / Addresses:

Dortmunder U
Leonie-Reygers-Terrasse
44137 Dortmund

Schauspiel Dortmund
Hiltropwall 15
44137 Dortmund 

 

Anfahrt / Directions:

www.dortmunder-u.de/anfahrt
 
www.theaterdo.de/service/anfahrt

12.11.2015 - 15.11.2015 // Conference ›EVERY STEP YOU TAKE‹ – Art and Society in the Data Age // Dortmund

Dortmund, Dortmunder U | Schauspiel Dortmund

Ein Projekt des medienwerk.nrw
 
– Vorträge / Paneldiskussionen / Filmprogramm / Performances / Workshops –

12./13. November 2015: Dortmunder U (Kino im U & Foyer)
14./15. November 2015: Schauspiel Dortmund (Theaterbar "Institut" & Studio)

Die zweite internationale Konferenz des medienwerk.nrw beschäftigt sich unter dem Titel ›Every Step You Take‹ – Kunst und Gesellschaft im Datenzeitalter mit den Utopien und Dystopien, die sich mit neuen Technologien der automatisierten Sammlung, Speicherung und Auswertung enormer Datenmengen verknüpfen. In zahlreichen feuilletonistischen, wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Positionen artikuliert sich gegenwärtig ein Unbehagen gegenüber aktuellen Entwicklungen unserer digitalen und vernetzten medialen Realität. Die öffentlichen Debatten um „Big Data“, Überwachung, Transparenz und Datenschutz, aber auch das individuelle Nutzerverhalten im sozialen Netz sind von einer tiefgreifenden Ambivalenz geprägt: die Versprechen und Verlockungen des technologischen Fortschritts – Sicherheit, Berechenbarkeit, Optimierung, Komfort – gehen mit gesellschaftlichen wie privaten Konsequenzen einher, die in ihrer Komplexität oft unüberschaubar und abstrakt bleiben.

Die Konferenz ›Every Step You Take‹ stellt Positionen aus Medienkunst, Medientheorie und digitaler Kultur vor, die auf diese aktuellen technologischen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen reagieren. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Frage, wie aktuelle künstlerische Strategien unsichtbare (immaterielle) und hochkomplexe Prozesse sichtbar machen, den gegenwärtigen technologischen Wandel beschreiben und seine Konsequenzen begreifbar machen. Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt liegt auf den gesellschaftlichen, ökonomischen und politischen Ideen, die sich in die Funktionsweisen der neuen Medien eingeschrieben haben: Wie reproduzieren sich diese Ideen und Logiken in der alltäglichen Nutzung? Und welche Spielräume bleiben für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung und Emanzipation im digitalen Raum?
 
Das Programm umfasst neben Vorträgen, Panels und Künstlergesprächen ein Konzert mit den KünstlerInnen Holly Herndon (Musik) und Mat Dryhurst (Visuals), ein von Florian Wüst kuratiertes Filmprogramm, eine Aufführung des Live-Films „Minority Report“ (R: Klaus Gehre), eine Lesung mit dem Schriftsteller Leif Randt (Roman „Planet Magnon“) und Workshops in Kooperation mit Fraunhofer UMSICHT und dem Dortmunder U. Der HMKV zeigt ab Beginn der Konferenz die Gruppenausstellung „(Artificial Intelligence) Digitale Demenz“ im Dortmunder U, kuratiert von Thibaut de Ruyter.
 
Mit Beiträgen von: Inke Arns, Kim Asendorf, Dirk Baecker, Alain Bieber, Mercedes Bunz, Niels van Doorn, Cécile B. Evans, Paul Feigelfeld, Matthew Fuller, Gemma Galdon Clavell, Louis Henderson, Holly Herndon, Felix Hüttemann, Alexander Kerlin, Ignas Krunglevičius, Constanze Kurz, Brigitta Kuster, Koen Leurs, Boaz Levin, Joanne McNeil, Jennifer Lyn Morone, Luciana Parisi, Peng! Collective, Maral Pourkazemi, Leif Randt, Hans Ulrich Reck, Manfred Schneider, Nishant Shah, Christian Sievers, Christoph Wachter & Mathias Jud, Jennifer Whitson, Pinar Yoldas u.a.
 
Filmprogramm mit Beiträgen von: Nadav Assor, Jürgen Brügger & Jörg Haaßengier, Bureau of Inverse Technology, Emma Charles, Hellmuth Costard & Jürgen Ebert, Norman Cowie, Stéphane Degoutin & Gwenola Wagon, Omer Fast, Harun Farocki, Walter Koch, Steffen Köhn, Jen Liu, Christian Niccoli, Ridley Scott

Filmprogramm kuratiert von Florian Wüst

Konzept & Programmleitung: Fabian Saavedra-Lara
Konzept & Programm: Judith Funke
Projektmanagement: Annette Bohn

Gefördert
durch:

Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Kulturbüro Stadt Dortmund

Kooperationspartner:

Hartware MedienKunstVerein
Schauspiel Dortmund
Dortmunder U – Zentrum für Kunst und Kreativität
Kino im U e.V.
Heimatdesign
Fraunhofer UMSICHT

Herunterladen: Programmablauf (PDF)Konferenzprogramm (PDF)

Kategorie: Symposium

PROGRAMMHEFT KONFERENZ | PROGRAMME BOOKLET CONFERENCE (PDF)

Programmablauf | Conference Schedule (PDF)

Hinweis: Konferenzsprache ist Englisch. Veranstaltungen in deutscher Sprache (z.B. Eröffnungsvortrag, Lesung) sind im Programmablauf mit (DE) gekennzeichnet.

Please note: The conference will be held in English. Events in German language (e.g. opening lecture, literary reading) are labeled (DE) in the schedule.
 
 
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 12. November 2015, 18:00 Uhr, Dortmunder U

Opening: Thursday, November 12, 2015, 18:00 h, Dortmunder U
 
 
Zugang:
 
Der Eintritt zur Konferenz ist frei. (Vorträge, Paneldiskussionen, Filmprogramme, Konzert Holly Herndon)

Aufgrund begrenzter Teilnehmerzahl ist für das KONZERT von HOLLY HERNDON/MAT DRYHURST eine kurze Anmeldung erforderlich unter: tickets@medienwerk-nrw.de

Die Theaterinszenierung „Minority Report“ des Schauspiel Dortmund (14. November) ist kostenpflichtig: 15 € / 10 € erm. (Weitere Informationen: www.theaterdo.de)
 
Admission:

Free admission to the conference. (Lectures, panel discussions, film programme, concert Holly Herndon)

As the number of participants is limited, we ask you to register here for the CONCERT performance by HOLLY HERNDON/MAT DRYHURST (November 14): tickets@medienwerk-nrw.de

The theatre production „Minority Report“ at Schauspiel Dortmund (November 14) is subject to a fee: 15 € / 10 € reduced (Further information: www.theaterdo.de)
 
  

Adressen / Addresses:

Dortmunder U
Leonie-Reygers-Terrasse
44137 Dortmund

Schauspiel Dortmund
Hiltropwall 15
44137 Dortmund 

 

Anfahrt / Directions:

www.dortmunder-u.de/anfahrt
 
www.theaterdo.de/service/anfahrt