medienwerk.nrw

medienwerk.nrw is the media art network of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW).
Its mission is to promote media art in NRW and foster exchanges between artists and institutions working in the fields of research, teaching, production, presentation, archiving and promotion of media art. Since September 2013 the network has been supported by the newly created Office medienwerk.nrw. Starting in April 2014 the office will organise workshops for young media artists as well as networking events an international conferences around topical questions and aesthetic as well as social issues relating to media art and digital culture in various venues across NRW.
 
Aims and mission of medienwerk.nrw
 
Since its inception as an informal network in 2000, medienwerk.nrw has been connecting and centralising the know-how and interests of media art institutions and initiatives in NRW. As part of RUHR.2010 – European Capital of Culture it hosted the media art festival ISEA2010 RUHR, 16th International Symposium on Electronic Art.
 
medienwerk.nrw supports the sustainable development of existing infrastructures in the realm of media art and works towards raising the profile of NRW as a hub for media art. It represents the interests of media artists and institutional or independent media arts organisations in the political realm.

medienwerk.nrw

Das medienwerk.nrw ist das Netzwerk für Medienkunst in Nordrhein-Westfalen.
Ziel des medienwerk.nrw ist die Förderung der Medienkunst in NRW und des Austauschs zwischen KünstlerInnen und Institutionen aus den Bereichen Forschung, Lehre, Produktion, Präsentation, Archivierung und Vermittlung im Kontext Medienkunst. Seit September 2013 wird das Netzwerk vom neu geschaffenen Büro des medienwerk.nrw unterstützt. Von April 2014 an veranstaltet das Büro Workshops für junge MedienkünstlerInnen, Netzwerkveranstaltungen und eine internationale Konferenz zu aktuellen Themen und ästhetischen wie gesellschaftlichen Fragen der Medienkunst und digitalen Kultur an verschiedenen Orten in NRW.
 

Ziele und Aufgaben des medienwerk.nrw

Seit seiner Gründung als informeller Netzwerkverbund im Jahr 2000 verknüpft und bündelt das medienwerk.nrw das Wissen und die Interessen von Institutionen und Initiativen der Medienkunst in NRW. Im Rahmen der Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt RUHR.2010 war das medienwerk.nrw Gastgeber des Medienkunstfestivals ISEA2010 RUHR, 16th International Symposium on Electronic Art.

Das medienwerk.nrw setzt sich für die nachhaltige Weiterentwicklung bestehender Strukturen im Bereich der Medienkunst und die Profilierung des Medienkunststandorts Nordrhein-Westfalen ein. Es vertritt auf kulturpolitischer Ebene die Interessen von MedienkünstlerInnen und institutionellen wie freien Medienkunstorganisationen.